images (1)

In my experience, my choice to eat consciously makes others feel inadequate. I am judged on all sides on this topic mainly because I don’t fit the society norm or scope of someone mindfully eating. I am a full-figured ethnic female who enjoys eating as healthy as possible. Where one female’s best past time or favorite thing to do may be clothes/shoe shopping mine is food shopping. I can spend hours in a grocery store. I enjoy my Sunday brunches at Eco-minded grocery stores such as Whole Foods and Earth Fare. I love the way wholesome organic food tastes as well as how it makes my body feel.

I have been labeled by others in my culture as being bourgeois (the urban spelling/saying is ‘bougie’) because I eat consciously. I have come to realize that this is my cultures way of dealing with fear of change and lack of self-love. If  choosing a conscious eating lifestyle is considered as one thinking of themselves as a higher class citizen, then what is considered to be the opposite?

I was told that I am being “bougie” because of my current eating lifestyle. The person’s conclusion about me happened after they discovered that I don’t have a microwave in my home. I have concluded that if having the mindset that one’s body is one’s own temple is considered as being ‘bougie’ then ‘bougie’ I shall be.

Leave a Reply

